If we took a Holiday…

City Paper has a story on the closing of a venerable Pittsburgh institution: Holiday Bar.

CMU is buying the city’s oldest gay bar as part of its expansion into Oakland. “Last call” is April 29.

My favorite quote:

“I think I’d like to be remembered as Pittsburgh’s gay Cheers bar,” [Holiday co-owner Chuck] Honse says. “People would go, ‘What are you doing on my stool?’ You don’t get that in big dance bars, and you never will.”

Pittsburgh Dish had the scoop. And the last time I was there I saw a Trib PM reporter and photographer, so keep an eye out for that story.

EDIT: Trib PM story is here.

Leave a Reply

