A day in the life (or “Watch out, Karen has a cameraphone again”)

I should change the description of this blog. “Freelance journalist” doesn’t really apply anymore — I’m mostly law student these days. What to post, then, but low-res photos and highlights of the last 24 hours:

– Drive from Pittsburgh to Philadelphia with accidental detour to New Jersey (6 hours).

– Quick grocery store run to get ingredients for boyfriend’s award-winning (seriously!) “Fire Rescue” chili — including four jalapenos and copious amounts of cayenne — for next day’s soup sale fundraiser.

Image
Even funnier after a long drive. (This did not go in the chili.)

– At midnight, finally arrive home to find key doesn’t work in the front door of my apartment building. Belatedly notice a handwritten sign that the locks have been changed.

– Call phone number on sign. Get voicemail.

– Per further instructions, “KNOCK[ED] LOUD!!!” Repeatedly.

– 20 minutes go by. It’s 40 degrees out.

– Longsuffering neighbor finally comes to the door in robe and slippers. Gives me a copy of the new key.

– Throw chili fixins in Meghan‘s wonderful crockpot that she generously donated for the occasion.

– Sleep (3 hours)

– Drink coffee #1.

– Drive visiting boyfriend to airport.

– Sadness and/or lack of sleep cause me to overshoot the return trip not once but twice, first by going south when I should’ve gone north, then vice versa.

Image
Philly does look pretty in the early morning though.

– Figure out how to turn on heat in apartment for the first time.

– Fix the watery chili, lug crackpot on walk to school. Covering towel does a surprisingly good job of keeping me from sloshing any on myself. Meghan, I did not drop it!

– Buy coffee #2.

– Go to meeting with professor and try to make sense. Notice hands are shaking and I’m playing too much with the knickknacks on her desk.

– Go to class #1.

– Sell chili.

Image
People seem to like it, it sells out fast.

– For breakfast/lunch I eat the bottom scrapings, and a Fruity Pebbles Krispie concoction from the table next door.

– Buy coffee #3. Hands still shaking; now stomach starting to protest too.

– Class #2. While trying not to focus on weird bodily sensations in Torts, I am cold called to discuss the case of a woman who was mugged for $19,000 worth of jewelry in the parking lot of a Sam’s Club. Begging the question, if you own jewelry that nice, what are you doing in a Sam’s Club?

– Answer in words — English words, even (I think), make it through the rest of class.

– Head home, empty crockpot noticeably easier to carry. Don’t know what time it is or what I’m supposed to do now so I figured I’d update this blog.

Image
Still haven’t ascertained why exactly they decided to change the locks and not inform tenants.

So that’s what’s been going on with me. How’s everyone out there? I mean, hi Mom.

8 thoughts on “A day in the life (or “Watch out, Karen has a cameraphone again”)”

  1. Yes. This is exactly what I had in mind when I thought of the two of us in grad school. So glad that dreams come true! [PS. Where is Juan Valdez coffee when you need it?]

    Like

    1. LOL I should’ve said “Hi, Roxanne.” I don’t even think my mom reads this blog 🙂 I wish we were in the same city to have joint misadventures!! Yours seems to have a lot more apples… though I have to say, the Amish grow some delicious ones.

      Like

  2. fun times and an enjoyable read. although $19,000 jewelry lady, I think, is able to spend that much on jewelry because she shops at Sam’s Club. different priorities (although certainly not my own).

    Like

Leave a Reply

